TRASH TO TREASURE WITH MAKINS CLAY

“The Golden Girl” by LReneeDesigns
As I was browsing our local flea market here in Kentucky, I came across a pretty ugly stained and glazed ceramic bust. Which set off a lightbulb moment. A few days earlier, I was watching a video put out by the talented ladies over at Polymer Clay T.V.  One of the girls had come across a ceramic bust and wanted to use it as a jewelry display. So, I implemented some of the techniques they used in my piece and a few of my own.

Using my bust, Makins Clay, and their floral mold, I built up a headpiece where there was just a plain headband.. I then added butterflies from a Martha Stewart mold and a few other details. These techniques worked so well because with Makins Clay being no bake, I didn’t have to worry about having to put her in the oven. Not to mention the Makins molds are just the right thickness. Where other molds have really deep cavities and can make the pieces too heavy to manipulate.

If you would like to see the complete instructions with stepped out photos on how to make a refab bust, go to the Makins Clay Blog. Don’t forget to follow me on Instagram at LReneeDesigns!

~ Lucy

Love To Hear From You...

