COLORANT + CLAY=?

This celestial mixed media piece is my project for the month of July. I created this piece using Makins Clay in white and a splash of Heidi Swapps ColorShine to customize the color. Which turned the clay a beautiful even shade of grey. It’s so easy to create different colors, shades, and intensities using Makins and pretty much any colorant that you choose. I often use Dylusions paint with great success. What I love most about Dyans paint is the level of vibrancy and mixing it with the clay doesn’t lose any of that.


The jewelry piece above “Spirit of the Forest” was also made with Makins Clay in white. However, instead of customizing the clay, I chose to hand paint it using my most coveted of metallic paints by Art Alchemy. I own every jar that they have put out and I am praying that they keep releasing new colors. You have to love shimmer and shine to appreciate this line of paints. It doesn’t matter what project I’m working on, they never disappoint.


This “Stargazer” pendant was again made with Makins Clay…  SURPRISE! Right, I know.. lol They do offer a pretty wide range of colors in their clay line. In this piece, I did a little bit of everything from using the the clay as is, to mixing in a bit of regular acrylic, and hand painting. However, in the flower I wanted to add some layers of color..but, not with a heavy paint. So, I chose Silks Acrylic Glazes, which gave me the hint of color I was looking for. Silks are known for their transparency, not to mention their line of paints are beautiful. 

For the month of August, I am jumping into transforming trash to treasure using different substrates with Makins Clay. I can’t wait to show you all the final pieces.


Here is a little sneaky peak for ya. By the way, if you are interested in finding me..

Facebook Fan PageMakins Clay Blog, and I’m also on Instagram at LReneeDesigns. I hope you guys stop in and say hi.
Inspire to be Inspiring

~Lucy

Love To Hear From You...

