WHERE DOES YOUR CREATIVITY COME FROM?

IMG_0753

Where do YOU think your creativity comes from? Do you think it’s something you are born with or maybe you grew up around an artist who inspired your creativity or could it be just a state of mind?

For me, my mother inspired my interest. She was extremely talented with her hands. She painted ceramics like nobody else and to this day I cannot buy a knickknack to save my life. The eyes she would paint were extremely realistic. So, when I am out shopping and I see something of interest the first thing I look at is the eyes and some of them are just plain scary!

I remember being very young and going into ceramic shops with her to purchase pieces. By the time I was 10 or 11 she had her own set up full of ceramic molds, a pouring table, slip, and kilns (2 to be exact). She taught me how to pour the molds, and clean the pieces to get them ready for firing. Spending time with her in her basement studio is some of my greatest memories. The day she taught me how to dry brush sticks in my mind the most. She would say ” Lucy don’t be sooo stingy with your paint”..lol Later on in life, she picked up on polymer clay and she made some amazing pieces. She did a sculpture of my dad and my grandpa which looked so much like them it was hilarious. The funny thing is that ceramics and pottery was just the ” something” that my mother did, it wasn’t until I was a lot older did I realize she was an artist…a really good one!

Sadly, my mom passed away in February 2005 from Lung Cancer at age 56. There is not a day that goes by that I don’t long for my momma. You know, as parents, I think that a lot of us feel like we don’t want our kids to grow up for fear that they will stop needing us. But, I am here to tell you all that it will never happen…no matter how old they are, or what kind of people that they grow into they will always need us..not just in their darkest hours, but in their happiest days as well.
I know that I wish my mom was still here for a ton of reasons. But, mostly to share with her my most proud creative moments. You know, the moments when you say, I wish she was here because she would love this!

No matter, where your creative bone has come from..be happy that you have it and even if you don’t think you have a creative bone in your body..which everyone does, keep looking for it, you will find it.

Until next time,
Lucy

2 thoughts on “WHERE DOES YOUR CREATIVITY COME FROM?

Love To Hear From You...

